Saturday, May 23, 2015



Surack honored with Swagger Award at Greater Fort Wayne meeting

Thursday, May 21, 2015 - 12:01 am
Chuck Surack, the president of Sweetwater Sound, was announced as the recipient of the 2015 Swagger Award at the annual meeting of Greater Fort Wayne Inc. Wednesday evening.
The Swagger Award takes its name from Maclyn Parker’s appeals in recent years for Fort Wayne to get its “swagger” back. Parker, a longtime attorney and community leader in Fort Wayne, tells of the prosperity in Fort Wayne that gave its residents confidence and even swagger.
In accepting the award, Surack paid tribute to Parker as an inspiration. Surack’s best-known contribution to Fort Wayne’s recovering its swagger is Sweetwater Sound, which he’s built from a small studio to a nationally known marketplace musical instruments and musical, stage and audiovisual gear with 800 employees.
Greater Fort Wayne also honored state Rep. Phil GiaQuinta, D-Fort Wayne, as legislator of the year for his devoted advocacy of measures to advance Fort Wayne, such as the creation of a Capital Improvements Board here.
Mike Cahill, treasurer of the Greater Fort Wayne board, was honored with the Chair’s Award by Board Chair Ron Turpin. Turpin applauded Cahill’s work in the last two years helping to get Greater Fort Wayne off the ground after it formed from the merger of the Greater Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce and the Fort Wayne-Allen County Economic Development Alliance.
The annual meeting drew about 250 people to the Mirro Center for Research and Innovation at the Parkview Regional Medical Center Campus, beside the Manchester University School of Pharmacy.
The meeting also recognized the 38 graduates of the 2015 class of Leadership Fort Wayne, the largest class in the more than 30 years the program has operated.

No comments:

Post a Comment